Location / Contact:
425 N. 7th St.
(corner of 7th and Maloney across from 7-2-11)
Phone: (505) 726-6310


North Campus staff

Laura Jijon, Program Manager
Location: Room 107
Email: lbjijon@unm.edu
Phone: 726-6317

Dina Dominguez,
Data Tech / Administrative Assistant
Location: Room 105
Email: Chicago@unm.edu Phone: 726-6311

Sean Ashley, Lead Instructor
Location: Room 106
Email: sashley@gallup.unm.edu Phone: 726-6318

Bryston Bowannie, Teacher
Email: bbowannie@unm.edu

Don "Dawn" Martinez, Program Coordinator / GED ® Examiner
Email: dawnmariemtz@yahoo.com Phone: 722-2173

Loretta Yazzie, Testing Assistant
Email: loyazzie@unm.edu

Barbra Telynor, GED ® Chief Examiner
Email: telynor@cruzio.com Phone: 722-2173

North Campus


North Campus


At the UNM-Gallup North Campus, Adult Basic Education (ABE) provides classes for GED® preparation, Skills Refresher for college preparation, and English as a Second Language (ESL).

Description of Services

All of our classes are taught by experienced teachers dedicated to the success of our students. Our program operates year round. Please call the campus that you would like to attend for start dates and to add your name to the list for the next session.

GED® Preparation

8-week class sessions that begin with several days of orientation to help students return to a school environ- ment and prepare them to succeed. Our orientations and classes help students learn about themselves and build common ground with their classmates and teachers. The classes cover the basic skills for the GED® test, college preparation, and employment.

Students must sign up in advance to attend the sessions.

The amount of time to successfully complete the program depends on the individual student's educational background and commitment to the classes.

ESL

Classes are designed for students whose first language is not English. Students from a variety of language backgrounds attend the classes and work together to learn English through reading, writing, conversation, and activities inside and outside of the classroom. The class helps students with daily life, GED®/college prepara- tion, family literacy, and citizenship.

Students must sign up in advance for the class.

Our North Campus staff speak English, Navajo, Spanish