Cosmetology and Barbering Licensing Information

Information for Current and Future Students

Requirements to take licensing examination:

  • Candidates must complete an online application and upload required documents with Professional Credentialing Services
    • A current 2” x 2” passport type color photo (selfies are not accepted)
    • Copy of Photo Identification Card –must be non-expired Driver’s License, State ID Card or U.S. Passport
    • A New Mexico Transcript of Training*.(must be notarized or have official school seal) This needs to be up-loaded to your PCS homepage and sent via mail directly to the New Mexico Board Office.(If unable to up-load: please mail, fax, or email a copy to PCS and send the original via mail to the Board Office.)
    • Out of State candidates may submit an official transcript as long as the transcript provides a breakdown of hours by subject.
  • Frequency of examination administrations
    • Both theory and practical exams are administered on a monthly basis in Albuquerque and Las Cruces (per Beverly) and are taken on two separate days
      • Should a candidate fail a theory and/or practical exam, he/she can reapply for the next month’s administration
  • Fees/Costs
    • Cosmetology Theory & Practical First Time Fees = $203.00 and Re-Exam Fees = $203.00
    • Cosmetology Theory First Time Fees = $130.00 and Re-Exam Fees = $130.00
    • Cosmetology Practical First Time Fees = $73.00 and Re-Exam Fees = $73.00
  • Time limits
    • All required examinations must be taken and passed and the license obtained within 12 or 24 months of the date the training was completed, depending on when your training was completed
      • Candidates who started training on December 17, 2015 or after will have 1 year (12 months from the date of completion to pass all required examinations and obtain license. Examination scores are only valid within 12 months of your training completion date.
      • Candidates who started training on December 16, 2015 or before will have 2 years (24 months) from the date of completion to pass all required examinations and obtain license. Examination scores are only valid within 24 months of your training completion date.

Licensing requirements:

  • Be at least 17 years of age
  • Have completed at least the 10thgrade or equivalent
  • Successfully complete a minimum of 1,600-hour course of instruction in a licensed school of Cosmetology.4.Successfully pass the NIC theory & practical and State Law examinations
  • Crossover License
    • Hold a current New Mexico Barber license
    • Have at least one year of full time, verified work experience in a licensed establishment
    • Complete 175 course hours or applicable credit hours in a license school
    • Successfully pass the NIC “basic manicure” portion of the Manicurist/Pedicurist Examination
  • Hours for Cosmetology licensure is 1600 and 1200 for Barbering; the candidate must past both examinations with a minimum of 75%
  • The licensing fee is $50.00 for a license that is renewed annually during the month of the holder’s birth
  • Those licensed in Barbering can use a straight razor but cannot perform manicures and pedicures; those licensed in Cosmetology cannot use a straight razor on clients